Florida Residency Defined

A Florida “resident for tuition purposes” is an independent person who has (or a dependent person whose parent or legal guardian has) established and maintained legal residency in Florida for at least twelve (12) consecutive months preceding the first day of classes of the term for which Florida residency is sought.

All students are classified as “out-of-state” residents at the time of admission and/or readmission. To request reclassification to in-state status, students must complete the Residency Affidavit and submit new, current, supporting documentation. 

Residency requires the establishment of legal ties to the state of Florida, and living in or attending school in Florida will not, in itself, establish legal residence. Students who depend upon out-of-state parents for support are presumed to be legal residents of the same state as their parents.

Maintaining a legal residence in Florida requires a substantial physical presence, and students claiming Florida Residency must submit proof, in compliance with Section 1009.21, Florida Statutes, and State Board of Education Rule 6A-10.044.

Submitting Florida Residency

Please complete the attached form and submit to Admissions & Records or an Enrollment Services office.

In order to expedite the process and ensure the Florida Residency Declaration for Tuition Purposes form is submitted correctly, please pay special attention to the following requirements.

Dependent

If you are 23 years or younger on the first day of class complete the following steps:

Florida considers you to be dependent on parent/guardian for Residency purposes.

Some students 23 or under may qualify as independent if they do not have a parent/guardian that has established residency. Please see the Independent 23 and younger section.

Section 1: Select the first box

Section 2: Do not sign. This section is reserved for non-residents.

Section 3: The Claimant (parent/guardian claiming Residency in Florida) should fill out this portion.

Section 6: – The Claimant (parent/guardian) should fill out and sign this section.

Section 7: The Claimant (parent/guardian) should select which, either a FL driver’s license or FL State ID, they are using to demonstrate a present tie to FL. This may also be used in SECTION 8 as well if it has been issued for at least a year.

Section 8: The Claimant (parent/guardian) must provide two supporting documents of Residency.

  • At least one supporting document must be from Category A.
  • The second supporting document can be from Category A or Category B.
  • All documents must be at least one year hold from the first day of classes.
  • If a utility bill is being used, 12 months of bills must be submitted. Please note, cellular phone and cable bills are not an acceptable utility.
  • Submit all four pages of the Florida Residency Declaration for Tuition Purposes, a photo of the FL driver’s license or ID that was selected in section 7, AND all photos or pages of the two FL supporting documents, to the Admissions Office as described at the bottom of page 4 of the Florida Residency Declaration for Tuition Purposes.

Independent 24 and older

If you are 24 years or older on the first day of class complete the following steps:

Florida considers you to be independent for the purpose of Residency.

Section 1: Select the third box

Section 2: Do not sign. This section is reserved for non-residents.

Section 5: The Claimant (student) should fill out and sign this section.

Section 6: The Claimant (student) should fill out and sign this section.

Section 7: The Claimant (student) is requires to select which, either a FL driver’s license or FL State ID, they are using to demonstrate a present tie to FL. This may also be used in section 8 as well if it has been issued for at least a year.

Section 8: The Claimant must provide two supporting documents of Residency.

  • At least one supporting document must be from Category A.
  • The second supporting document can be from Category A or Category B.
  • All documents must be at least one year hold from the first day of classes.
  • If a utility bill is being used, 12 months of bills must be submitted. Please note, cellular phone and cable bills are not an acceptable utility.
  • Submit all four pages of the Florida Residency Declaration for Tuition Purposes, a photo of the FL driver’s license or ID that was selected in section 7, AND all photos or pages of the two FL proofs, to the Admissions Office as described at the bottom of page 4 of the Florida Residency Declaration for Tuition Purposes.

Independent 23 and younger

If you are 23 years or younger on the first day of class and do not have a parent/guardian that has established residency complete the following steps:

Additional documentation needed:

  • Pay stubs from the last year showing at least $8500 in income (roughly 50% of cost of attendance).

Section 1: Select the second box

Complete: Sections 5, 6, 7, and 8 as listed above in the Independent 24 and older section